User and Project Data Lifecycle
When a user account expires on Peregrine,
- Files in the user’s home directory are kept for 3 months.
- Files in the user’s mass storage system directory (/mss/users/<username>) are kept for 1 year.
If you plan to change jobs and will no longer have access to our systems, please plan to save your files before you leave.
The lifecycle for files associated with project allocations is tied to the allocation period.
- Files in the high speed /projects file system are kept for 3 months after the allocation ends.
- Files in the project’s mass storage system directory </mss/<project-id> are kept for 15 months after the allocation ends.
Project members are responsible for transferring their files to other systems for longer term storage.
Note that If a project is continued (gets an allocation with the same project handle for the next allocation cycle), the data retention clock does not start until after the project’s last allocation ends. Similarly, if an expired user account is re-activated, none of the user’s files in /home or /mss will be deleted.
More information on User and Project data life cycle is available on the data retention policy page.