Data Retention Policy
File storage areas are either user-centric
Project data on Peregrine (in /projects/<project-id>) will be retained for 3 months after the project allocation ends (the project enters Expired state) to allow project members to move data either to local resources or to /mss/<project-id>. Project members will be notified of the need to move their files when their project ends. The PI will be notified at the end of this 3 month period.
Project data in /mss will be retained for 15 months after the project allocation ends, which is 1 year after the 3 month period during which project data is retained on the /projects filesystem. After this retention period, we reserve the right to delete files if we need to reclaim storage. We can make special arrangements for permanent storage, if needed.
Users accounts that are associated only with expired projects will be deactivated 3 months after the last project they are associated with ends. The retention period for files in /home/<username> is 3 months after the last project ends. During this retention period, the user may log in to transfer data to external storage or to their/mss directories. User files in /mss/users/<username> will be retained for 1 year, after which we reserve the right to delete files to reclaim tape storage.
User accounts are locked and access to files is lost when the AUP (Appropriate Use Policy) period expires or contractual arrangements with NREL end. This may occur during an allocation period (depending on when the AUP period began). The typical AUP period for external users (non-NREL employee) is one year. Users will be warned about AUP expiration before the expiration date.
User accounts will be deactivated if they are inactive (no logins) for 6 months. Files in /home/<username> will be retained for 3 months after account deactivation. Users may request that accounts be reactivated during this time to enable files to be moved. Files in /mss/users/<username> will be retained for 1 year, after which we reserve the right to delete files to reclaim tape storage.
Files in /scratch/<username> may be subject to purging if the file system becomes too full. If purging is necessary, files will be removed based on the last access time with the least recently accessed files removed first.